For Gold, Peace, and Freedom


Mysterious Spammer Advertises Auto-Click Software

March 17th, 2008

spam.jpgYesterday I received an email from a mysterious spammer named “PTC News”. This person is not only spamming for referrals in a hitherto unknown paid-to-click program named BuxIT.info, but is also throwing in a special bonus: an “AutoSurfer” that will automatically detect and click the paid links so that you can simply sit back and earn your pennies without having to actually do anything other than logging into your account.

Of course I should point out that the use of such auto-clicking software is considered cheating by virtually all paid-to-click programs and will result in being banned from any programs that detect it. However, this is the first time that I have ever seen anyone so brazenly advertising “cheatware” like this and even having the audacity to use it as a bait for referral collecting. Apparently the spammer has also included a video demonstration and was even nice enough to provide both Spanish and mangled English versions of the message.

Hi… // Hola… Hi, I saw your mail on a list of people who are interested in PTC, which is why you inform this magnificent PTC, and you can download a AutoSurfer makes the clicks automatically for you, and a video demonstration that teaches you how it works. ———- Hola, he visto tu mail en una lista de gente que le interesan los PTC, por eso te informo de este magnífico PTC, y puedes descargar un AutoSurfer que hace los clicks automáticamente por ti, y un video de demostración que te enseña cómo funciona. Link: http://buxit.info/register.php AutoSurfer: http://rapidshare.com/files/98261256/BuxIt.v01.zip VideoDemostration: http://rapidshare.com/files/98262412/Buxit.avi Let enjoy // Que lo disfrutes

Note that in order to avoid unwittingly rewarding the spammer or endorsing such tactics, I have removed the referral code from the text. I have not clicked through to the RapidShare URLs to examine the software or video, but I did confirm that the BuxIT.info program actually exists (as of this writing). If any of you have additional information on this Spam & Scam operation, please let us know in the comment section.

6 Responses to “Mysterious Spammer Advertises Auto-Click Software”

  1. comment number 1 by: Deimos Tel`Arin

    Ah, bad bad cheaters!

    There is no free lunch.

    Bread is best earned through honest hard work, or smart work. ;)

    Fellow bloggers ought to be smart enough to avoid these cheats. :p

  2. comment number 2 by: Wade Balsdon

    Well done for naming and shaming him. People like this give our industry a bad name.

  3. comment number 3 by: Caren

    You know…since you happen to know the websites he’s promoting as well as his referral link, you should contact those websites and tell them that this member is cheating and that you have proof of cheating.

  4. comment number 4 by: BK

    I dislike spam like this. I received similar email like this just last week saying that he is running a project and wanted people to help him click on the link he sent. The link is actually some affiliate link. I also received several email before that spoke of children suffering from some illness or cancer and the forwarding of those email will contribute some money to their payment in the hospital. Naturally I will always google for information regarding those email and I would say most of them turned out to be hoax. Its disheartening sometimes to have people sending email like that.

  5. comment number 5 by: Karlonia


    Yes, it’s sometimes surprising how many people fall for the “free lunch” fallacy. In this case it seems unlikely that many bloggers will be enticed by this particular offer because even if one is able to successfully cheat the system, the rewards gained hardly make it worth the time.

    @Wade: You are certainly correct about cheaters giving the industry a bad name. I’ve been involved with PTR and PTC programs since 2004 and have witnessed many long battles between program owners and cheaters. The unfortunate side effect of things like this is that many program owners have resorted to banning entire countries from their programs because of the high proportions of cheaters, thus effectively limiting the income potential of many honest members who happen to reside in the targeted countries.

    @Caren: Yes, I’m tempted to report them, although in this case the site that they are promoting looks like it may be rather dodgy as well. The BuxIT site seems to be one of those ubiquitous AdBux clones that are able to draw in lots of members initially because of the hype surrounding the original site, but then fade away later after their business model becomes unsustainable and they fail to attract enough advertisers.

    @BK: Hmmmm…if the spammer is asking people to help him click on a link, he may be promoting one of those PTP (paid-to-promote) types of programs. I have surfed through many of these sites and even tried advertising for a few of them through various PTR programs. They’re generally not worth it - the pay rates are way too low and the pages are typically loaded with popups, heavy graphics, and other annoying features, making whoever promotes them unpopular with any visitors they manage to attract.

    The second case you mentioned looks like the old fake charity scam. As you mentioned, it is always a good idea to run a quick search on the content of such emails in case they have already been reported on elsewhere. While I certainly understand the desire to make money, I am hoping that the spammers will eventually realize that it’s possible to set up significant revenue streams through legitimate operations and then have enough money to donate to the philanthropic causes afterward.

  6. comment number 6 by: Jon

    I am looking for someone who can help me setup an autosurfer. I have the software and the hosting but having problems getting it running. Thanks..

Post Your Comments, Opinions, or Suggestions Here:


Email (optional)

Website (optional)